Doodles: Some Drawings from 1999

My freshman year of college my artist dabblings mostly took a break.  I was starting in a new school, in a new part of the country, and I was going to be an oboe major (yet another, more time-consuming, more expensive dabble of mine), so there wasn’t much time for drawing.

But then I took a trip with a friend to watch a kayaking competition.  While the competition was mostly fascinating, there was a lot of down time.  I had come prepared with those metallic gel markers, a packet of very basic colored pencils, and a sketch notebook.  This began a small series of drawings based on those items around me at the kayaking competition, namely kayakers and nature.  Also, a cross, because I used to be religious.  But, I have always liked the work I did on that weekend and though kayaking has passed me by as a hobby of interest, the pictures bring back really great memories.

Posted on January 29, 1998, in Other. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

